> HiStory

HiStory

A chronological overview of my short stories as they have appeared since 2002

2002 was, after a thirty-six year break in creative writing, the year of my comeback. Of the little sf I had been reading during that period, stories set in virtual reality or cyberspace fascinated me the most: they were not taking place in the limitless expanse of the universe, but seemed within reach, even if in another continuum.

VR is a world of endless possibilities, the drug of the future, which will allow us to one day escape the constraints of our everyday lives and taste everything that has been denied us. Sexuality - the strongest drive in living memory - will control almost everything. With this in mind, I came to write "Schlaraffenland" (Land of Milk and Honey, 2002). The story is about a young man who has been bedridden because of his enormous girth, but who is reborn in a clinic. While in rehab, he falls in love whilst moving between reality and virtuality; he experiences happiness and disappointment in turn, until he can't stand the latter anymore and retreats into a virtual world, where he remains forever in his land of milk and honey.

I barely finished this short novel when I discovered two things: the first was that the story was far too long for a regular magazine, the second that I had not nearly exhausted the theme - that's how many ideas were crowding me. What else could I do but write more stories on the theme of Cybersex and fill an entire collection with them? I went on to map out a kind of History of VR, which begins in the near future when visors and gloves are replaced by VR suits, and extends over the next two hundred years into a time when neural networks and the denaturalisation of the human being are the final result. To this I added another nine stories under the title "Sex, Love, Cyberspace" (2002), which I explore further at the end of this list.

Since I was already on the theme 'sex', I described in the novelette "Gepriesen sei die Grosse Mutter" (Praise to the Great Mother, 2002) a colony separated from Mother Earth, which has through genetic manipulation been turned into a matriarchy under command of a female priesthood involved in strange sexual practices and rituals.

An old theme, but which may nevertheless be more relevant than ever, formed the basis of my next story "Offline" (2002). What would happen if one was suddenly ripped from an omnipresent network by a power failure, one's identity was lost, and one is left to one's own devices?

Next I blasted off into space. "Universal Soldier" (also available in English, 2002) is the name of my human fighting machines in an intergalactic battle, who, when they can no longer be patched up or revitalised, are cloned and implanted with a back-up of their memories, and sent back into battle. Regular memory updates are supposed to aid in the revival process, but they have traumatic side-effects; in the end the Universal Soldiers are nothing more than cannon fodder.

A call for submissions to a dragon anthology brought me around to writing "Loris Wunderland" (Lori's Wonderland), in 2002. Influenced by Jerome Bixby's "It's a Good Life" I chose to write in the fantasy genre. Lori, a wonder child, can turn her fantasies into reality with dramatic consequences: they culminate in the creation of a fire-spewing monster. It would, however, be a fatal mistake to attack the monstrosity, since Lori could change the whole world into her own fairyland.

Wilson Tucker's "Tourist Trade" also left a lasting impression on me. That's how "Immer wieder Sonntag" (Forever Sunday, 2002) came into being - a story about tourists from the future who travel back in time to gape at our barbaric era. Because of an anomaly in time the present day family visited is caught in a time loop, and has to make the best of it. A story filled with humor and irony.

"Körper zu vermieten" (available in English as Body For Rent, 2002) deals with a squatter who nests in a host body, and is so careless and audacious with it that the host takes the decision to move out - and into a Third World body. Humor with a dash of vulgarity.

"Mutter Erde, Vater Kosmos" (Mother Earth, Father Cosmos, 2002) was the title of my next story, a novelette which I conceived of as an "earth opera". It is about a post-human shape-shifting space traveler, who experiences all sorts of wild adventures while on shore leave on his home planet Earth. Thanks to his unique abilities, he manages to free himself from the clutches of organ and body snatchers.

Another novelette followed. In "Geschenk von den Sternen" (Gift from the Stars, 2002) I asked myself the question what we would do when an extraterrestrial artifact, a matter-transmitter-duplicator, put us in the position to create for ourselves, through a simple transmutation process, everything we could ever wish for. In my story, a probe sows these artifacts across the entire planet, with some interesting results. It is only in the conclusion that the question of whether this was a test, a developmental aid, or a Trojan horse is answered.

Back to IT and cyberspace I went, and produced "Speck für die Maus" (available in English as Like a Fly Caught in a Web, 2002). It is about a property offer that ends up being nothing more than a spam trap. During a virtual viewing of a home, a virtual seller tries every trick in the book to convince a hapless buyer to sign contracts for all sorts of products and services. Irony paired with black humor.

With "Programm zum Verlieben" (A Program for Love, 2003), I again tackled cybersex as a theme. Actually a precursor to "Sex, Love, Cyberspace", it tells the near-future story of a student who falls in and out of love with an AI, when the all too human software must make way for a purely commercial, soulless porn product.

"Stimme des Gewissens" (available in English as The Voice of Conscience, 2003) describes a future in which the moral development of our children is left to artificial intelligences implanted in their brains, and which do not fully leave them at their coming of age, when the AIs are switched off. The story takes a gloomy view of the future role that parents will play in child-rearing and a brave new world.

Still under the influence of new media, I described in "Download" (also available in English, 2003) an apocalyptic world, in which a dying man's flight from a brutal reality takes the form of electronically stored memories. An illusion of flashbacks and mementoes.

As though I had a premonition of it - John Paul II did, indeed, die soon after this story was written - I described in detail the ultra-conservative but changing needs of the papal selection process in 2866, in which women, aliens and artificial intelligences are also given the opportunity to become the head of the Catholic Church. That the deceased pope in "Habemus papam" (2003) is called Benedict XVII is a pure coincidence. This story has been published 2008 in the USA, by the Wesleyan University Press, in "The Black Mirror and Other Stories - an Anthology of Science Fiction from Germany and Austria", as well as 2011 in Japan, representing Austrian Science Fiction in an Eastern Europe Fantastic Anthology.

I already had a framework for the story "All Inclusive" (2003) a year before I convinced Ernst Vlcek and Uschi Zietsch - two formidable names on the German science fiction scene - to co-write it with me. Simply put, it's the story of an elderly couple that wins a dream holiday, which reveals as a trip into cyberspace. The part of the elderly lady, who chooses a trip into a fantasyland, was written by Uschi, while the elderly gentleman, who prefers to participate in a galactic battle, was penned by Ernst.

"Personal Android" (2003) is once again a pandemonium story of Android doubles used by a husband and wife to disguise their liaisons.

With "Zeitbeben" (Timequake, 2003) I tackled one of my favorite themes: time travel. The protagonist in this case is my writerly alter ego, who is thrown into the future by an anomaly in time - a timequake - and confronted with his own death. Knowing what happens, he abruptly swings into the past, and then back into the present. The story should serve as a prelude to further tales on this phenomenon.

My cats inspired me to write my next story, entitled "Incommunicado" (2003). Can understanding exist between two entirely different intelligences, such as humans and our house pets? In my novelette, a family is suddenly supplanted by aliens into a strange environment without knowing how it happened, and all their attempts to communicate fail. But the misunderstanding counts for both parties.

Another story from my youth inspired me; this time it was "Hobson's Choice", by Alfred Bester. In my version of the tale, "Zur falschen Zeit" (available in English as At the Wrong Time, 2004), a dying protagonist allows himself to be cryogenically frozen, in the hope of waking up in a better, medically more advanced time. Yet no epoch reveals itself as ideal; though each of them has a hook, he goes on believing that he might still be missing out on something. With this story, I examine my own frustrations at being born too early for the wonderful scientific and technological discoveries that the future holds.

"Ruhe in Frieden" (available in English as Rest in Peace, 2004) also deals with my longing for a longer life. In this story, flashbacks that correspond to various stages of technological advances in the life of an elderly man are illustrated. Instead of being cloned a second time, he decides to enter a limitless life in a mechanical shell.

In "Zum Abschuss freigegeben" (available in English as Fair Game, 2004), I again dedicate myself to a very real theme: an aging population. Here I mix political opinions on government pension schemes and increasingly violent propensities in our society with state sanctioning of the hunting of old people, who are unwilling to be retired into an electronic oblivion.

The next story "Le dernier cri" (also available in English, 2004) came into being when I was given the opportunity to contribute to a themed anthology. In it, a beautiful woman wears for her aging lover the newest nanotechnology supported fashions - with highly erotic consequences.

Inspired by Simaks' City stories (but also by Harlan Ellison's "A Boy and his Dog"), I wrote "Ein Hund und sein bester Freund" (A Dog and his Best Friend, 2005). A genetically modified dog and an antiquated robot drift through a desolate landscape abandoned by humans, and help each other to survive. What the two know about each other but won't say out loud is this - they are nothing more than toys discarded by their human masters.

And back again to a favorite topic from my youth. In "Die Tücken der Zeit" (The Malice of Time, 2005) a time cop is confronted with love and jealousy, hate and paradox, when he hopelessly tries to change the course of certain events in his favor.

Once more (and surely not the last time) time travel plays a role in a story: "Goodbye James!" (2006) is about a hapless traveling salesman who accidentally swaps his luggage for that of a time traveler, and discovers it is filled with all sorts of futuristic devices. What if he pretended to be some sort of James Bond … and is caught by surprise?

In closing, here is a summary of the other nine stories that appear in the collection "Sex, Love, Cyberspace" (2002):

In "Safer Sex" teenagers fool around safely, not with condoms, but in cyberspace. In "Szenen einer Ehe" (Scenes from a Marriage) the couple's wishes diverge; while the man lives out his fantasies in VR, the wife that insists on doing things naturally has to lower her expectations. "Bermuda-Dreieck" (Bermuda Triangle) pays homage to Erich von Däniken and the Mystery Park which he conceived. This story about a serial rapist stalking cyberspace was written while the park - part Disneyland, part 'Knowledge Park' - was still being planned. "Romanze in e-moll" (Romance in e-minor) is a love story with a twist: two neighbors only find each other on the net. "Schlaraffenland" is followed by "Spinne im Netz" (Spider's Web) a crime thriller which deals with a woman who murders men because of her hate for them. In "Rache ist süss" (Revenge is Sweet) a cuckold husband takes his revenge on a virtual partner for his wife's adultery. In "Cogito ergo Sum" (also available in English) a man resurrects a love from his youth as an AI, which eventually becomes self-aware. Like many of my other stories, "Für immer und e-wig" (For Now and Evermore) explores life after death in cyberspace. In it an earthly love does not automatically end with death. Lastly, in "Wir sind doch keine Wilden!" (also available in English as "We're not Savages!") new neighbors with their naturalistic tendencies offend a community of puritans and are eventually exiled from a high-tech paradise.

 

 
German homepage
© 2003-2012 by Helmuth W Mommers

> HiStory


HiStory

Übersicht meiner Kurzgeschichten in chronologischer Reihenfolge ihrer Entstehung seit 2002

2002 war - nach einer schöpferischen Pause von 36 Jahren - das Jahr meines Comebacks. Von dem Wenigen an SF, was ich in der Zwischenzeit gelesen hatte, faszinierte mich die Idee der Virtuellen Realität, neudeutsch Cyberspace, ganz besonders: sie lag nicht in der unendlichen Weite des Universums, sondern schien mir in greifbarer Nähe, wenn auch in einem anderen Kontinuum.

VR ist das Reich der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten, die Droge der Zukunft, die es uns erlauben wird, den Zwängen des Alltags zu entfliehen und alles auszukosten, was uns im normalen Leben verwehrt ist. Die Sexualität - seit Menschengedenken stärkste Triebfeder - wird dabei alles beherrschend sein. Und so verfasste ich meine erste Erzählung "Schlaraffenland" (2002). Sie handelt von einem jungen Mann, der seiner gewaltigen Leibesfülle wegen ans Bett gefesselt ist, aber in einer Klinik als neuer Mensch wiedergeboren wird. Er verliebt sich, schwankt im Rahmen seiner Reha zwischen Realität und Virtualität, wobei er wahlweise Freuden und Enttäuschungen erfährt, bis er letztere nicht mehr erträgt und in eine virtuelle Welt flüchtet, um für immer in seinem "Schlaraffenland" zu bleiben.

Kaum hatte ich diese Novelle, eigentlich ein Kurzroman, geschrieben, erkannte ich zweierlei: erstens wäre sie zu lang für jedes normale Magazin, zweitens wäre das Thema damit noch lange nicht ausgeschöpft, so viele Ideen stürmten auf mich ein. Was lag da näher, als rund um das Thema "Cybersex" weitere Storys zu schreiben und damit einen ganzen Erzählband zu füllen? Also entwarf ich eine Art History der VR, beginnend von der nahen Zukunft, in der Brille und Handschuh von einem Ganzkörperanzug ersetzt werden, über die nächsten 200 Jahre hinweg bis zur totalen Vernetzung und Denaturalisierung. So kamen neun weitere Erzählungen hinzu, gesammelt unter dem Titel "Sex, Love, Cyberspace" (2002), auf die am Ende dieser Auflistung noch eingegangen wird.

Da ich schon mal beim Thema "Sex" war, beschrieb ich als nächstes in der Novelle "Gepriesen sei die Grosse Mutter" (2002) eine Kolonie, die, getrennt vom Mutterplaneten Erde, sich durch genetische Eingriffe zum Matriarchat gewandelt hat und unter dem Kommando einer weiblichen Priesterschaft fremdartige sexuelle Praktiken und Rituale ausübt.

Ein altes Thema, aber vielleicht schon bald brandaktuell, sollte meine nächste Story "Offline" (2002) behandeln: Was passiert, wenn man plötzlich, aufgrund eines Störfalls, vom allgegenwärtigen Netz genommen wird, seine Identität verliert und völlig auf sich allein gestellt ist?

Nun ging´s ab in den Weltraum. "Universal Soldier" (2002) heißen meine menschlichen Kampfmaschinen in einem intergalaktischen Krieg, die, wenn sie nicht mehr zusammengeflickt und revitalisiert werden können, geklont und mit alten "Backups" wieder in die Schlacht geworfen werden, wobei ihre Kampferfahrung jeweils verloren geht. Laufende "Memory-Updates" sollen dem Abhilfe schaffen, haben aber eine Traumatisierung zur Folge, am Ende taugen die U.S. nur noch als Kanonenfutter.

Die Anfrage für eine Drachen-Anthologie brachte mich dazu, "Loris Wunderland" (2002) zu schreiben. Beeinflusst von Jerome Bixbys "It´s a Good Life" wählte ich die Form der "Fantasy Fiction". Lori, ein Wunderkind, kann ihre Fantasie Gestalt werden lassen, mit dramatischen Folgen: sie gipfeln in der Erschaffung eines feuerspeienden Ungeheuers; fatal wäre es aber, dieses anzugreifen, denn Lori könnte im Gegenzug die ganze Welt in ein Fantasieland ihrer Wahl verwandeln.

Auch Wilson Tucker hatte mit "Tourist Trade" seine Spuren bei mir hinterlassen; so entstand "Immer wieder Sonntag" (2002), eine Story mit Witz und Ironie über Touristen aus der Zukunft, die unsere barbarische Ära und ihre Zeitgenossen bestaunen. Aufgrund einer Anomalie ist eine von ihnen besuchte Familie in einer Zeitschleife gefangen, sie macht aber das Beste daraus.

In "Körper zu vermieten" (2002) geht es um einen sogenannten Mietnomaden, der sich als Untermieter in einem Wirtskörper einnistet und darin so rücksichtslos haust, dass der Wirt die Flucht nach vorn antritt und selbst auszieht - in einen Drittweltkörper: Witz gepaart mit einer Portion Derbheit.

"Mutter Erde, Vater Kosmos" (2002) lautete die nächste Story, eine Novelle, die ich als "Earth Opera" konzipierte. Sie handelt von einem posthumanen, gestaltwandelnden Raumfahrer, der auf seinem Geburtsplaneten Erde während des Landgangs allerlei wilde Abenteuer erlebt, sich aber dank seiner Fähigkeiten aus den Fängen von Organ- und Körperhändlern befreien kann.

Es folgte wieder eine Novelle. In "Geschenk von den Sternen" (2002) fragte ich mich, was würden wir wohl anstellen, wenn ein außerirdisches Artefakt, ein Materie-Transmitter-Duplikator, uns in die Lage versetzte, alles Gewünschte durch bloße Umwandlung zu erzeugen. In meiner Geschichte streut eine Sonde solche Artefakte über die ganze Welt, mit dramatischen Folgen. Es stellt sich die Frage, ob dies ein Test, eine Entwicklungshilfe oder ein Trojanisches Pferd ist.

Zurück zur IT und dem Cyberspace handelt "Speck für die Maus" (2002) von einem Wohnungsangebot, das sich als Spam-Falle herausstellt, in der ein virtueller Verkäufer bei der virtuellen Besichtigung alle Register zieht, um dem ahnungslosen Interessenten allerlei Verträge für Produkte und Leistungen anzudrehen. Ironie gepaart mit schwarzen Humor.

Mit "Ein Programm zum Verlieben" (2003) griff ich nochmals das Thema "Cybersex" auf. Eigentlich ein Vorläufer von "Sex, Love, Cyberspace", erzählte ich darin die zukunftsnahe Geschichte eines Studenten, der sich in eine KI verliebt und verzweifelt, als die allzu menschliche Software einem rein kommerziellen, seelenlosen Pornoangebot weichen muss.

In "Stimme des Gewissens" (2003) beschrieb ich eine Zukunft, in der die geistige Erziehung Sache von künstlichen im Gehirn aufgeschalteten Intelligenzen ist, die einem auch dann nicht ganz verlassen, wenn man sie bei Volljährigkeit abschaltet. Die Story gibt einen düsteren Ausblick auf die zukünftige Rolle der Eltern und einer Brave New World.

Immer noch unter dem Einfluss der neuen Medien beschrieb ich in "Download" (2003) ein Endzeitszenario, in welchem ein Todgeweihter der brutalen Wirklichkeit entflieht - in elektronisch gespeicherte Erinnerungen. Ein Verwirrspiel aus Rückblenden und Momentaufnahmen.

Als ob ich es geahnt hätte - in der Tat zeichnete sich ein baldiges Hinscheiden von Johannes Paul II. ab -, beschrieb ich in "Habemus papam" (2003) das erzkonservative, jedoch den veränderten Bedingungen angepasste Prozedere um eine Papstwahl anno 2866, zu welcher neben Frauen auch Aliens und künstliche Intelligenzen zugelassen sind. Dass der verstorbene Papst in der Story Benedikt XVII. heißt, ist reiner, aber kurioser Zufall.

Die Rahmenhandlung von "All inclusive" (2003) - ein ältliches Ehepaar gewinnt eine Traumreise, die sich als Trip in den Cyberspace entpuppt - hatte ich bereits ein Jahr zuvor. Für den Part der alten Dame (eine Reise ins Fantasyland) konnte ich Uschi Zietsch gewinnen, für jenen des alten Herrn (die Teilnahme an einer Raumschlacht), Ernst Vlcek, beides arrivierte Autoren.

"Personal Android" (2003) ist einmal mehr ein amüsantes Verwirrspiel um androide Stellvertreter, um Seitensprünge zu kaschieren.

In "Zeitbeben" (2003) griff ich eines meiner Lieblingsthemata auf, die Zeitreise. Protagonist ist in diesem Fall ein schriftstellerndes Alter Ego meiner Selbst, das durch eine Anomalie - ein "Zeitbeben" - von der Gegenwart in die Zukunft, wo er von seinem Unfalltod erfährt, von dort in die Vergangenheit und schließlich wieder zurück in die Gegenwart geschleudert wird, wie bei einem Pendel. Die Story sollte der Auftakt zu weiteren Erzählungen um dieses Phänomen werden ...

Meine Katzen hatten mich zur nächsten Geschichte "Incommunicado" (2003) animiert. Gibt es eine Verständigung zwischen grundverschiedenen Spezies wie zwischen uns Menschen und unseren Haustieren? - In meiner Novelle wird eine ganze Familie von Aliens plötzlich in eine fremdartige Umgebung versetzt, ohne zu wissen, wie ihr geschieht, und alle ihre Versuche zu kommunizieren, schlagen fehl. Aber das Unverständnis ist beidseitig.

Wieder hatte mich eine Story aus meiner Jugendzeit inspiriert, diesmal "Hobson´s Choice" von Alfred Bester. In meiner Erzählung "Zur falschen Zeit" (2004) lässt sich der todgeweihte Protagonist einfrieren in der Hoffnung, in einer besseren, einer medizinisch fortschrittlicheren Zeit aufzuwachen. Doch keine Epoche erweist sich als die ideale, stets hat sie einen Haken oder er meint etwas zu verpassen. Darin thematisiere ich meine eigene Frustration darüber, zu früh für all die wundersamen Fortschritte in Wissenschaft und Technik, welche die Zukunft bereit hält, geboren zu sein...

Auch "Ruhe in Frieden" (2004) spricht von meiner Sehnsucht nach einer Verlängerung des Lebens. In dieser Story werden in Rückblenden die verschiedenen Etappen, einhergehend mit der fortschreitenden technologischen Entwicklung, im Leben eines alten Mannes aufgezeigt, der sich entschließt, statt ein weiteres Mal geklont zu werden, in einer mechanischen Hülle ein zeitlich schier unbegrenztes Leben zu bestreiten.

In "Zum Abschuss freigegeben" ( 2004) widme ich mich wieder einem aktuellen Thema, dem der Überalterung. Hier vermische ich politische Aussagen über das Rentensystem und der zunehmenden Gewaltbereitschaft mit der staatlich sanktionierten Jagd auf ältere Menschen, die nicht bereit sind, ins elektronische Jenseits abzutreten.

Die nächste Story "Le dernier cri" (2004) entstand, als ich Gelegenheit erhielt, einen Beitrag zu einer Themen-Anthologie einzureichen. In ihr führt eine Schönheit ihrem ältlichen Liebhaber die neueste, auf Nanotechnologie basierende Bekleidungsmode vor - mit höchst erotisierendem Erfolg.

Inspiriert von Simaks "City"-Geschichten (aber vom Titel her auch von Harlan Ellisons "A Boy And His Dog") schrieb ich "Ein Hund und sein bester Freund" (2005). Ein genmutierter Hund und ein antiquierter Roboter streifen gemeinsam durch die von Menschen verlassene, trostlose Welt und helfen einander zu überleben. Was jeder vom andern weiß, aber nicht ausspricht, ist, dass sie nur das liegengelassene Spielzeug von Menschen sind.

Und nochmals das Lieblingsthema aus meiner Jugendzeit: "Die Tücken der Zeit" (2005). Es geht um Liebe, um Eifersucht, um Hass und um Paradoxa, mit denen ein Zeitpolizist konfrontiert ist bei dem vergeblichen Versuch, den Lauf der Dinge zu seinen Gunsten zu ändern.

Und ein weiteres Mal, bestimmt nicht das letzte, dass ein Zeitreisender darin eine Rolle spielt: In "Goodbye James!" (2006) geht es um die Verwechslung eines Koffers, der, angefüllt mit allerlei futuristischen Gerätschaften eines Zeitagenten, in die Hände eines unbedarften Vertreters fällt. Was Wunder, wenn er sich wie James Bond wähnt... aber seine Überraschungen erlebt.

Zum Schluss noch ein Zusammenfassung der übrigen 9 in "Sex, Love, Cyberspace" (2002) enthaltenen Erzählungen:

"Safer Sex" betreiben Teenies nicht mit Kondomen, sondern sicher im Cyberspace. - In "Szenen einer Ehe" divergieren die Wünsche der Ehepartner; während der Mann im VR seine Fantasien ausleben kann, muss die Frau, die auf Natürlichkeit steht, zurückstecken. - Eine Hommage an Erich von Däniken ist "Bermuda-Dreieck", das in seinem Mystery-Park spielt (der real kurz vor der Eröffnung stand): Im Cyberspace geht ein Vergewaltiger um. - Die romantische Seite klingt in "Romanze in e-moll" an, einer Liebesgeschichte zwischen Nachbarn, die nur über VR zueinander finden. - Nach "Scharaffenland" folgt der Krimi "Spinne im Netz" um eine Frau, die aus Hass auf die Männer selbige mordet. - "Rache ist süß" sagt sich ein gehörnter Ehemann und rächt sich stellvertretend an der virtuellen Partnerin. - In "Cogito ergo sum" lässt ein Mann seine nicht erwiderte Jugendliebe als KI auferstehen, die aber zu eigenem Bewusstsein erwacht. - Auch "Für immer und e-wig" handelt, wie manche meiner Storys, vom Weiterleben nach dem Tod, nämlich im Cyberspace, womit eine irdische Liebe nicht automatisch endet. - In "Wir sind doch keine Wilden!" schließlich stoßen die neuen Nachbarn mit ihrer Naturverbundenheit auf Ablehnung und Vertreibung aus dem Hightech-Paradies.

English homepage
© 2003-2008 by Helmuth W Mommers